The Past Week in Movies

Here’s how the last week has been in terms of my movie viewing:

It’s certainly an interesting assortment of films.

Rushmore was not as good as I had hoped it would be. My previous experience seeing The Life Aquatic was really nice, but Rushmore was a letdown. With the exception of a few scenes – the one where Max gets drunk at dinner (the insults he launches at Peter are terrific), the one where Max and Rosemary fight in her classroom and she asks him what he really expected to happen between them and the one where Max fakes getting hit by a car in order to get into Rosemary’s bedroom – the film fell flat. As much as I wanted to feel something for the characters, I couldn’t. I still plan on seeing Moonrise Kingdom this weekend, though.

On a brighter note, Alice was really wonderful. I might actually love it more than Hannah and Her Sisters, which I have long considered my favorite Woody Allen film (although Radio Days is a longtime favorite as well). I saw links between Alice and Midnight in Paris: besides romance, the use of fantasy and subplots about cheating spouses reminded me of why I loved Midnight. Alice, however, is even better. I can’t recommend it enough.

Leave a Reply

