My Plan for a Hot June Day

Despite the 99-degree weather in NYC, I’ll be making the trek from Brooklyn to Manhattan to see Ugetsu at the Museum of Modern Art. In the last few months I have become deeply interested in Japanese cinema, specifically the classics by Ozu, Kurosawa and Mizoguchi (in that order). MoMA is showing a number of internationally renowned films this summer in the ongoing “An Auteurist History of Film” series. Besides Ugetsu, I am looking forward to seeing I Vitelloni, Tokyo Story and the Albert Lamorisse/Edmon Sechan set.

If there are any other New Yorkers out there reading this blog, I urge you to take advantage of the wonderful cinema opportunities available in this city. I’m sure the theater will be nice and cold today – a perfect way to beat the heat!

Leave a Reply

