The Latest Book Craze (For Me, That Is) and Susanne Lothar

This post is divided into two parts:

Part One

On Tuesday morning I borrowed the Stieg Larsson novel The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo from my vacation town’s local library in Schroon Lake, NY. The novel turned out to be the very definition of a page-turner: I finished it by 8:00 pm that same night. By yesterday morning I had returned Tattoo and borrowed the second book in the Millennium trilogy, The Girl Who Played with Fire. The reading there has been slow-going, but mostly because reading a book in one day is a bit of an eye-strain and I prefer taking it easy when possible.

It has been a long time since I’ve been so interested in a series; not since the last Harry Potter book have I started and finished such a big novel in the space of one day. I can’t wait to finish the trilogy and get started on the film adaptations. I suspect that I will prefer Noomi Rapace to Rooney Mara as Lisbeth Salander, but I definitely look forward to seeing Christopher Plummer as Henrik Vanger. He fits the bill perfectly.

Part Two

I see that actress Susanne Lothar has passed away at the age of 51. I first became aware of her as the daughter of actor Hanns Lothar, who had a really funny supporting role in the Billy Wilder film One, Two, Three (1961) as Jimmy Cagney’s harried assistant, Schlemmer. The one performance I saw of Susanne Lothar’s was when she played Hildegarde Schmidt in the 2010 “Murder on the Orient Express” episode of the long-running series “Poirot.” I immediately pointed out Ms. Lothar to my mother as being Hanns Lothar’s daughter, after having reminded my mother about Schlemmer in One, Two, Three. Although no cause of death has yet been reported for Ms. Lothar, it is sad to read of her all-too-early death, especially since her father died at age 37 in 1967 (kidney failure) and her husband, the famed actor Ulrich Mühe, died at age 54 in 2007 (stomach cancer). RIP Susanne Lothar, 1960-2012.

Leave a Reply

