Le Grand Amour: An Introduction to Pierre Étaix

Tonight I am going to the Film Forum to see Le Grand Amour (1969), a film by the much-forgotten (or unheard of) French filmmaker and comedian Pierre Étaix. The Film Forum is showing a festival of his directorial efforts. Like many other people, I had not heard of M. Étaix nor had I see his films. Tonight I shall remedy that situation as I sit back and enjoy not only Le Grand Amour but also his Oscar-winning short film, Heureux Anniversaire (1962). Best of all, M. Étaix will be there in person! I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

