John Lennon and Sean Lennon: A Shared Day

This morning I was thinking about the fact that it’s John Lennon’s birthday and that one of my favorite Beatles songs, one which I think is underrated amongst their canon, is “I’m Only Sleeping” from Revolver (1966). I don’t want to detract from the more famous tracks from that album, like “Eleanor Rigby,” “Yellow Submarine” and “Got to Get You Into My Life,” but there’s something about remembering “I’m Only Sleeping” and hearing it again for the first time in many years that cements more than ever why Revolver is, when I think about it, my favorite Beatles album.

Today is also Sean Lennon’s birthday. I love his album Friendly Fire (2006), which is terrific from start to finish. Track two, “Wait for Me,” is one of the many gems. “Somewhere out there in between the moon and the sea” is such a great line. You should listen to the whole album on YouTube because it’s totally worth it and you don’t need to bother worrying about comparing it to John Lennon or the Beatles or anything else. It’s just great music.

Leave a Reply

