25 Memorable Moments from Hitchcock’s Filmography

Today marks the birthday of film director Alfred Hitchcock (1899-1980), who revolutionized cinema with his peerless style. Here are 25 images from his films, moments that have continued to stay with me even after many years.

The Lodger: A Story of the London Fog (1927)

Blackmail (1929)

Murder! (1930)

The Man Who Knew Too Much (1934)

The 39 Steps (1935)

The Lady Vanishes (1938)

Rebecca (1940)

Foreign Correspondent (1940)

Saboteur (1942)

Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

Lifeboat (1944)

Spellbound (1945)

Notorious (1946)

Rope (1948)

Strangers on a Train (1951)

Dial M for Murder (1954)

Rear Window (1954)

The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956)

Vertigo (1958)

North by Northwest (1959)

Psycho (1960)

The Birds (1963)

Marnie (1964)

Frenzy (1972)

Family Plot (1976)

3 thoughts on “25 Memorable Moments from Hitchcock’s Filmography

  1. I loved looking at these “mini-clips.” I am surprised that there are several in this list I not only don’t know and haven’t seen, but didn’t even recognize as Hitchcock films. I think one of my favorite all-time movies is “Rebecca,” and of course, many, maybe most of these movies are classics that even the casual observer, like myself, knows well! I think I need to make a list of these titles and work my way through!

    • Great! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. So many of these films are, for me, among the finest ever made. Another title for you to try, which I did not put in this list of 25 (although wouldn’t that number already be an astounding amount of films for any director, let alone masterful ones?), is Topaz (1969). It’s one of Hitchcock’s last films. It’s kind of long and it may initially seem strange since there are no “stars,” but if you stick with it, it’s a really interesting political drama. It also has a great shot which I wish I could have found for this post: a high-angle, bird’s-eye view shot with a creative use of a woman’s dress billowing outward as a metaphoric pool of blood.

  2. Pingback: Five Times I Was Amazed by the Films of Wim Wenders | The Iron Cupcake

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.